Clean out the Cupboards Cabbage Soup

We are (prayerfully, hopefully, God-willing) closing on our house a month from tomorrow, which means it’s time to pack.  It also means that I need to use up everything in my cupboards, fridge, and freezer, because even though we’re only moving 50.4 miles away, I’m not moving our food. I hate to move food. I want to start fresh in my new house, right down to the groceries in my cabinets. People who constantly move all their leftover food is how you end up discovering a can of soup that expired four years ago. (Not that I’m speaking from experience here…)

Soooooo, in my desire emptying out the cabinets, I threw together a yummy, satisfying soup today that really helps warm me up on this chilly, early-fall evening.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can carrots
  • 1 can corn
  • 2 cans potatoes
  • 3/4 head of cabbage
  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • Beef bouillon
  • Spices to taste (I used garlic powder, rosemary, basil, Cajun seasoning, salt, and pepper)

Drain and rinse the carrots, corn, and potatoes. (There are very few actual uses for canned potatoes, but slow-simmered soup helps take the “canned” taste away.) Rough-chop the cabbage. I tossed that all into my slow-cooker and mixed it up.

Brown the ground beef and drain it well – I rinse mine in very hot water. Then I tossed that into the slow cooker and added all of my spices, plus the beef bouillon cubes and about 8-10 cups of water.

Six hours later, it’s hot and steamy, done and delicious!

13 thoughts on “Clean out the Cupboards Cabbage Soup

  1. Thank you for the recipe, Domestic Goddess! Prayers go with you on your next journey. I hope they have electricity in your new place so you can do a blog post from there. snicker! I hope you find some 4-H-friendly people and maybe even someone who knows where 14th and Oak is! ha, ha!

    • Thank you! We’re so excited and amazingly impatient right now as we wait. The appraisal on the house should be happening soon, and in the mean time, all I want to do is drive over to Port Orchard and sit outside the house like a stalker. *sigh* Just another month!!!!

    • Your time will come! Meanwhile, say goodbye to the present place, take some photos. Take a basket of food to church and hand it out (not any past-expiration date, though!) The more food you give away, the sooner you can go and eat out at a restaurant, ha, ha! I should try that…..

  2. I miss eating out! We spent nearly every dime we have on the earnest money for the house, so we’ve been SOOOOO BROKE this month! Payday is just 3 days away. We can do this!

  3. Congrats on the new home and thanks for the recipe! Hubby and I have changed the way we eat and have gone pretty much vegan. I say pretty much because some days we are more vegetarian than vegan 🙂 We’ve done it for health reasons and I look forward to tweaking your recipe a bit and trying it out in our home.

    • It’s easy to turn this recipe vegan! Good luck with that lifestyle. Once we get moved and settled, I will be doing something similar. I’m going to fight my Psoriatic Arthritis with diet since first the Enbrel and now the Humira aren’t working!

    • I hope the new diet works. I’ve only been doing this for about 4 weeks and can already tell a difference in my arthritis. My husband had been doing this for about 3 months and had lost considerable weight and his doctor took him off several medications.

  4. That looks delicious – and even easy enough I could make it!
    Oooh, how exciting that you are getting a new house! 😀 I really think I need to move just so I can clean out my cupboards. I have to admit, I have no idea when my soup cans expire(d). I’m afraid to look. And who knows what’s lurking in my “Food Storage Cabinet” under the stairs…

    • LOL!! I love the idea of food storage, but I can just imagine what would happen. My mom was cleaning out the cabinets once in about 2005, and she pulled out a can of pumpkin that had been in a dark corner at the back. That pumpkin had expired in 1992… OY.

    • Well, I cleaned out my medicine cabinet 3 weeks ago and found prescriptions dated from 2000 (we moved into the current house in 2005, meaning I actually carted 5 year old meds with me (!?!)… so… thus we can see, if my “food storage” is anything like my “medicine cabinet” then there’s not much hope for my survival during the zombie apocalypse.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.